Download PDF

Minus Button, Comps, Discounts/Overrides, Cancels, Voids


BrewPos can handle changing the price of a product or removing a product from a ticket in a variety of ways through the front of the house point of sale program. Each way is tracked back to specific reports.

Minus Button

  • This button is properly used to remove items from a ticket before they are sent to the kitchen.
  • Employees can be granted permission to use the button as a way to delete items of a ticket after they are sent to the kitchen in the security’s tab of admin. This event is logged and tracked in the system as a minus after send and can be viewed in admin under a tickets event log as well as in the Reports-Summary Employee tab as -b4send and -aftersent

When you minus after send it removes the item from the ticket and the system, this can cause problems if you are tracking profitability or inventory. We recommend that items never be minus after send if they went to the bar or kitchen and were made. Use the comp or 100% discount options.


Comp Button

  • This button allows you to comp an item setting the price to 0.
  • Touch the item then touch comp.
  • This feature is granted in the security’s tab by an employee.
  • This feature can be forced to have a reason entry for every comp

This feature is tracked in the event log for each ticket, in the closeout comp tab, in the Reports-Activity tab, and in Reports-Summary-Employee tab.


Comp a Full Ticket

  • An entire ticket can be comped by touching the total box in the lower right corner
  • Next, choose Comp ticket on the red screen in the upper Right-hand corner
  • This feature is granted in the security’s tab by an employee.
  • This feature can be forced to have a reason entry for every comp
  • This feature is tracked in the event log for each ticket, in the closeout comp tab, in the Reports-Activity tab, and in Reports-Summary-Employee tab.


Override/Discount Button

  • To discount the price on a line item either by a dollar amount or a percentage, select the line item and click the OVR button.
  • Price override will establish an exact price for the item
  • %0ff will allow you to discount something up to 50%
  • Custom buttons for discounts appear at the bottom of the page and can be created in the admin portal under Setup-Discounts-Discount Button

  • This feature is granted in the security’s tab by an employee.
  • This feature is tracked in the event log for each ticket, in the closeout comp tab, in the Reports-Activity tab, and in Reports-Summary-Employee tab.


Discount Entire Ticket

  • An entire ticket can be Discounted by touching the total box in the lower right corner
  • Next, make sure the Discount button is highlighted
  • Select either $ or %
  • Enter the amount with the keypad
  • Or choose a % from the options at the bottom of the screen
  • This feature is granted in the security’s tab by an employee.
  • This feature can be forced to have a reason entry for every comp
  • This feature is tracked in the event log for each ticket, in the closeout comp tab, in the Reports-Activity tab, and in Reports-Summary-Employee tab.


Cancel a Full Ticket

  • An entire ticket can be canceled by touching the total box in the lower right corner
  • Next, choose to cancel on the red screen in the upper Right-hand corner
  • This feature is granted in the security’s tab by an employee.
  • This feature is tracked in the event log for each ticket, in the closeout comp tab, in the Reports-Activity tab, and in Reports-Summary-Employee tab.
  • When canceling a ticket after sending it, the system removes the items from the system, this can cause problems if you are tracking profitability or inventory. We recommend that items never be canceled if they went to the bar or kitchen and were made. Use the comp or 100% discount options.


Void a Full Ticket

  • Voiding tickets are reserved for after payment has been made on a ticket.
  • Touch the tools button on the POS
  • Choose History
  • Select a transaction to void, and chose the void button in the center of the screen. Its the Minus in a red circle
  • WARNING VOIDING A TRANSACTION WITH A CREDIT CARD PAYMENT WILL ALSO VOID THE PAYMENT AND THE CARD NUMBER WILL NOT BE AVAILABLE
  • This feature is granted in the security’s tab by an employee.
  • This feature is tracked in the event log for each ticket, in the closeout comp tab, in the Reports-Activity tab, and in Reports-Summary-Employee tab.